facebook logo, please click to access our facebook page Twitter logo, please click here to open our twitter page YouTube logo, please click to open our youtube page  Instagram logo, please click to open our instagram page

Cornwall Celebrates Volunteering 2019

Photograph of the winners of the 2018 Cornwall Celebrates Volunteering awards

*** Nominations now closed and shortlisting taking place - watch this space for further announcements ***

Our annual celebration of Cornwall's amazing volunteers is back and we need you to nominate volunteers who you think deserve recognition for going above and beyond.

This year there are 2 new categories: The Jane Virot Animal Welfare Award (sponsored by the National Animal Welfare Trust) for anyone involved in animal-related volunteering and the 'Good Neighbours' Award (sponsored by Cornwall Council) for people who don't necessarily volunteer for an organisation but just get on with helping others in their community.

There is also a 'Host of the Year' for the organisation that has demonstrated excellence in the way it supports its volunteers and an overall 'Volunteer of the Year' chosen from the category winners.

Anyone can make a nomination and anyone who volunteers in Cornwall can be nominated. Because all volunteers are amazing people, be sure to tell us what makes your particular volunteer stand out. Nominations need to be with us by Sunday 8th September 2019 and the winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday 21st November 2019.

The 11 categories for 2019 are:
  • The Jane Virot Animal Welfare Award (sponsored by National Animal Welfare Trust)
  • Children & Schools (sponsored by Cornwall Council)
  • Community (sponsored by Cornwall Council)
  • Cultural (sponsored by Cornwall Council)
  • Environmental (sponsored by Cornwall Wildlife Trust)
  • Fundraising & Support (sponsored by Cornwall Council)
  • Good Neighbours (sponsored by Cornwall Council)
  • Health & Care (sponsored by Duchy Health Charity)
  • Personal Development (sponsored by Truro & Penwith College)
  • Young Volunteer (sponsored by Cornwall College)
  • Host of the Year (sponsored by Healthy Cornwall)


If you have any queries, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. but please note the judges decisions are final and we cannot enter into correspondence about individual nominations. Everyone nominated will receive a commemorative certificate at the end of the year. Good luck everyone!


2018 WINNERS are pictured below:

Volunteer of the Year - Jak Atter (sponsored by Eden Project, Dan James)

Children & Schools - Pat Jolley Face2Face (sponsored by Cornwall Council, Charlotte Hill)

Community - Brenda Collins (sponsored by Cornwall Council, Cllr Andrew Mitchell)

Culture - Kaylie Wright, collected by Deb Rosser (sponsored by Cornwall Council, Paul Masters)

Driver - Vincent Coen (sponsored by Cornwall Council, presented by Ben Seamarks)

Environment - Sue Sayer (sponsored by Cornwall Wildlife Trust, Carolyn Cadman)

Fund Raising & Support - Bev Burt (sponsored by Cornwall Council, Jessie Hamshar)

Health & Care - Rosemary Wickett (sponsored by Duchy Health Charity, Aldyth Hambly Staite)

Personal Development - Lowenna Kaute, collected by Jenny Wilkins (sponsored by Truro & Penwith College, Cheryl Mewton)

Young Volunteer - Jak Atter (sponsored by Cornwall College Camborne, Chris Taylor)

"Host of the Year" category for the organisation that has demonstrated excellence in the way it looks after its volunteers - Merlin MS Centre (sponsored by Healthy Cornwall, Rachel Wigglesworth)

Highly Commended

Children & Schools - Fred Chadburn and Lin Marsh

Community - Lorraine Reid on behalf of Richard Warren and Graham Bray

Culture - Emily Henderson and Mike Vineer

Driver - Eddie Blackley and Jacqueline Smith

Environment - Cody & Roxy Child and Paul Crum

Fundraising & Support - Jackie Kitchener and Bernard Smith (Camborne Cancer Research UK)

Health & Care - Caitlin Dean and Joe Bar

Personal Development - Natalie Brown on behalf of Eleri Evans and Richard Hale

Young Voluneer - Connor Bolt and Holle De Lay Fay

Highly Commended Hosts - Drama Express and Treverbyn Community Hall